PaiaTalk
http://www.paia.com/talk/

Updating the PSU in the 4700. Fuse Question
http://www.paia.com/talk/viewtopic.php?f=8&t=466
Page 1 of 1

Author:  valis [ Wed Sep 12, 2012 3:12 pm ]
Post subject:  Updating the PSU in the 4700. Fuse Question

Greetings!

I'm doing some work on the power source unit of my old 4700. I recapped the electrolytics and I bought a new 24 volt center tap, 1 amp, transformer since the old one is getting quite old. The machine is running in the USA at about 110V.

Here's my question. I'd love to add a fuse to the power supply but I am running into some conflicting accounts as to the best size for a fuse. If I'm not mistaken the equation is watts/voltage=fuse size. That would put me at about 1 amp. Does that sound about right to you? I'm also thinking a fast acting fuse is better than a slow acting one but I'll definitely listen to some sage wisdom.

Thanks as always.
David

Author:  PAiA-Scott [ Thu Sep 13, 2012 1:55 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Updating the PSU in the 4700. Fuse Question

Search the internet using the terms Fuse Selection and you'll find a lot more than I can tell you, but...

The box on the shelf for the one fuse we've always used with our kits says "Radio / TV Fuse" 0.5A.

Page 1 of 1 All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/
Not able to open ./cache/data_global.php