Page 1 of 1

Power Supply for Theremax

Posted: Tue Oct 19, 2010 7:36 pm
by King of Spades
Hello.

I bought a Theremax kit ("international" version) and need a power supply for my country's 240V AC mains. The manual tells me I need a 12V DC supply, but doesn't specify a current as far as I can find. From reading around the internet, I think I need a 12V DC 100mA unregulated supply, but can you confirm this, please?

Many thanks in advance.

Re: Power Supply for Theremax

Posted: Wed Oct 20, 2010 10:17 am
by PAiA-Scott
I see that you're in the UK...

When shopping for the 12vdc wall mount power supply (100mA or more)
note the connector on the end of the part is not a concern as the
instructions are to clip and solder the wires direct. A dvm set to
measure dc volts can be used to confirm the polarity of the two
wires--when the red probe is on the plus pole and the black probe is
on the minus pole, the reading is a positive value--with the probes
switched, the reading is negative as indicated by a minus symbol
before the digits.

2913 is an example on this site:

http://www.rapidonline.com/productinfo. ... leno=71060 <http://www.rapidonline.com/productinfo. ... leno=71060>

Be sure to check out the topics over in this section of PAiA Talk, in particular, the tips/suggestions with an image of the way the wires need to be dressed, and, with the substitution of three capacitors and addition of a resistor onto the Timbre control the sound and volume action can be improved -- you'll also see the QuickTune method, the best way for getting the tuning slugs set just right.

http://www.paia.com/talk/viewforum.php?f=11

Re: Power Supply for Theremax

Posted: Fri Oct 29, 2010 2:48 am
by King of Spades
Apologies... yes, I should have said that I am in the UK.

Thank you for the advice.