PaiaTalk
https://www.paia.com/talk/

Was there ever an EK-4 or an EK-6?
https://www.paia.com/talk/viewtopic.php?f=8&t=713
Page 1 of 1

Author:  toneman [ Mon Nov 16, 2015 12:05 pm ]
Post subject:  Was there ever an EK-4 or an EK-6?

Was there ever an EK-4 or an EK-6?

Please post a link, if U have one, for the Polyphony issue.

I am familiar with the following EK's-->

EK-1....Top.Octave.Generator
EK-2A...Computer.Drums.Exp
EK-3-Keyboard.Scanner

EK-5-Analog.Delays.SAD1024

EK-7-4bit-DualDigitizer
EK-8-Hex.VCA
EK-9-Shepard.Generator
EK-10-Just.Intonation.Generator

EKx-10-CEM3310-VCADSR
EKx-20-CEM3320-VCF
EKx-30-CEM3330-VCA
EKx-40-CEM3340-VCO

Lastly, i remember reading about a digital delay article.
I am interested in a digital trigger delay.
I know about the 555 Trigger Delay article by Larry Prior in the July/August 1978 issue of Polyphony. Does anyone remember the digital delay?

thanks
Keep that Paia Phlying!!

Author:  ModularMe [ Mon Nov 16, 2015 5:16 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Was there ever an EK-4 or an EK-6?

From the 1983 Catalog -

"EK-6 3-Octave Tone Board...very similar to the EK-1, but with three times the notes simulaneously available...EK-6 is identical to the tone boards used in Craig Andeton's Organtua..."

Author:  ModularMe [ Mon Nov 16, 2015 5:26 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Was there ever an EK-4 or an EK-6?

Not sure if this is what you want, in Polyphony 3/76, page 29, Marvin Jones has a simple circuit using a 748 for an end of cycle trigger for the 4740 ADSR.

Author:  toneman [ Mon Nov 16, 2015 6:41 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Was there ever an EK-4 or an EK-6?

Hey MM,
that's EXACTLY what i was after!!!!!!!
don't suppose u know of a link to a picture of this or the actual catalog(?)

ok, EK-6 = 3-octave EK-1

Now, there's only the "EK-4".......
maybe it was in an old Paia brochure also(?)

The digital delay article was in the May/June 1980 Polyphony.
Mr Jones lists it at his sonic.net site,
but has not scanned it yet.
I had an old article about a DD that was just A/D -> memory -> D/A
no microprocessor. The A/D and D/A were "free-running".

Thanks for your help!!
8-)

Author:  ModularMe [ Mon Nov 16, 2015 9:39 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Was there ever an EK-4 or an EK-6?

Marvin's Polyphony V6 Index lists the article ""Build a Digital Audio Delay Line" by Neves and Kolupaev. A search on Google turns up an article of the same name and authors in a Poptronics magazine, which you can find in PDF format at this URL:

http://www.americanradiohistory.com/Arc ... 980-09.pdf

It might be a several part article, if so, you can find additional Poptronic issues at that URL. That site is a treasure trove of old electronic magazines, all free, in PDF format.

Author:  ModularMe [ Mon Nov 16, 2015 9:54 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Was there ever an EK-4 or an EK-6?

For a PAIA catalog page with the EK-6, log on the Yahoo Group PAIA synth fan club, and browse the Photos tab, where you will find old catalogs.

Author:  toneman [ Mon Nov 16, 2015 10:42 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Was there ever an EK-4 or an EK-6?

Hey MM,

that's a great link for those pdfs!!
i remember that article about the digital delay by neves in pop tronics.
was that the same one that appeared in polyphony(?)
guess i will have to wait for Mr Jones to scan them :-(
Mmmm...i think....they might be...mmm

i found 2 old paia catalogs that list the EK-6 for sale for $34.95!!
one is dated 1986. the other only has a picture of the Proteus on the cover.
does not have a date or catalog number.

haven't been to the YahooPaiaGroup in a while...
i will check it out...
thanks again!!

Author:  toneman [ Mon Nov 16, 2015 11:03 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Was there ever an EK-4 or an EK-6?

RATTS!!!
can't get into My PaiaYahooGroup :-( :-(
my login name toneman22 is giving me a hotmail.com email....
it's not mine....
Yahoo's "recovery" just leads in circles,
but, did send my name to my regular email....
don't know how to get any further....
oh well........

Page 1 of 1 All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/
Not able to open ./cache/data_global.php