It is currently Mon Nov 20, 2017 11:45 pm

No Volume Control on Theremax 

Post No Volume Control on Theremax
Hi guys,

A friend gave my husband a Theremax kit about 5 years ago. Since then, it's been sitting in the closet waiting to be built. I decided to give it a try. I'm new to electronics, so I didn't jump right into building it. I started with some beginner soldering projects from Adafruit. All of those went well :)

Last week, I decided to go for it since I had the week off between Christmas and New Years. I have it put together, but the volume isn't changing at all, either with the potentiometer or the arm that connects to the choke coil.

The pitch seems to be working fine.

The first time I turned it on, the power supply got really hot, and the area between + and D1 on the board got hot to the touch. I didn't notice this at first because I jumped to tuning it after not noticing heat for the 1st minute or so it was on. Pitch changed, Volume didn't. The gate light did light up when tuning lug 3 and touching the volume arm.

I checked all the parts that have polarity multiple times, and my husband gave it a look over, too. I really think I have everything in the right place, and in the right direction.

I touched up the solders that looked cloudy on the board, reheated the solders in the potentiometers and jacks to make sure the connections were good, and tried again with a new power supply ( the other one seemed to have gotten fried). The new power supply is adjustable. When set to 12V, it shows 17V on the Voltometer. When dialed back to 9V, it seems to work fine and not overheat. I have it set to 9V and it's reading close to 12V. I'm not sure if this is OK or not? I also made sure the wires weren’t running over the Oscillator circuits. Pitch is still working fine, Volume is still unchanging. The gate light is still lighting up when I touch the Volume arm. I also notice a really quiet click when the gate light illuminates. However, the volume stays steady.